The Film Independent Spirit Awards celebrate the achievements of today’s most compelling filmmakers. For this exclusive program, members of the Walker, Film Independent, and FilmNorth have the chance to see 20 of the year’s finest indie films—nominees for Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best Documentary, and the John Cassavetes Award—at no charge.

The films are presented Tuesday and Wednesday evenings in January and February.

Current FilmNorth members may reserve up to 2 tickets per screening. Reservations are not required but are recommended to secure your spots. All screenings are at The Walker Cinema.


The 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony takes place on Saturday, March 3 and will be carried live on IFC at 2:00 pm PT/4:00 pm CST. Click here for details.

2018 Screening Schedule

Week 1

Tuesday, January 9: Faces Places, 6 pm  / Lady Bird, 8 pm
Wednesday, January 10: Most Beautiful Island, 6 pm / Get Out, 8 pm

Week 2

Tuesday, January 16: Dayveon, 6 pm / The Rider, 8 pm
Wednesday, January 17: The Transfiguration, 6 pm / A Ghost Story, 8 pm

Week 3

Tuesday, January 23: Menashe, 6 pmQuest, 8 pm
Wednesday, January 24: Motherland, 6 pm / Last Men in Aleppo, 8 pm

Week 4

Tuesday, February 6: The Departure, 6 pm / Columbus, 8 pm
Wednesday, February 7: Patti Cake$, 6 pm / Life and Nothing More, 8 pm

Week 5

Tuesday, February 13: Ingrid Goes West, 6 pm / The Florida Project, 8 pm
Wednesday, February 14: Oh Lucy!, 6 pm / Call Me by Your Name, 8 pm


Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominees

Best Feature

Call Me by Your Name, Luca Guadagnino
The Florida Project, Sean Baker
Get Out, Jordan Peele
Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig
The Rider, Chloé Zhao


Best First Feature

Columbus, Kogonada
Ingrid Goes West, Matt Spicer
Menashe, Joshua Z. Weinstein
Oh Lucy!, Atsuko Hirayanagi
Patti Cake$, Geremy Jasper


Best Documentary

The Departure, Lana Wilson
Faces Places, Agnès Varda and JR
Last Men in Aleppo, Feras Fayyad
Motherland, Ramona S. Diaz
Quest, Jonathan Olshefski


John Cassavetes Award

Dayveon, Amman Abbasi
A Ghost Story, David Lowery
Life and Nothing More, Antonio Méndez Esparza
Most Beautiful Island, Ana Asensio
The Transfiguration, Michael O’Shea


Copresented by the Walker, Film Independent, and FilmNorth.